These are yogis, but you remember how these games work

My son came home today enamored with the song:

Cinderella, dressed in yella
Went upstairs to kiss a fella
Made a mistake, kissed a snake
How many doctors did it take?

A couple of weeks ago he had come home with:

Bubblegum bubblegum in a dish
How many pieces do you wish?

The Cinderella one has been modified in the last 35 years to automatically be 10 doctors, but bubblegum is still up for grabs about whose hand or foot goes out. We talked as I drove and I mentioned about how the game had changed since I was a girl.

I mentioned that girls start excluding each other at an early age. Which, to be honest, slowed my brain down. I sat in circles in basements and on playgrounds all over northern Illinois, in a flash I could remember all the ways to count – so that I could get the girl, so I knew what number the girl would intentionally get me would say.

“Mommy, what is exclude?”

It was, at that moment, just a thing that naturally happens, that sometimes happens on purpose, that is an introduction to who you will be when your feelings are hurt, it is a part of life, and it starts early.

It was also something to skirt around a little bit because Female School Dynamics of the 1980s is of little interest to Twenty-First Centerury Elementary Boy, and Female School Dynamics was what was on my mind. So I answered quickly and started talking about other things.

I’m still mulling over the ways in which girls start randomly excluding each other early on.

