tl;dr – interesting with a side of I don’t think I’ll do it again.

Things to begin with:
1. The first days are here.
2. The story of boiling frogs is here.
3. Low blood sugar makes me grumpy.

Ok, so days 4-6 are basically using my own juice order, which comes closer to mimicking things like a super protein heavy breakfast and I am feeling pretty good. Dinner is food with varying degrees of healthiness and generally it is working out fine. Except for the slow boil.

Day 4 was a little tougher because I had obligations that made for a lot of interaction and a LOT of walking (about six miles total over the course of the day). At lunch I threw a can of soup in the mix to not be in total caloric depravation.** There were times during day four where my metal chatter did not give those around me the benefit of the doubt as much as usual. I had long rants on the phone about things that were (1) not consequential, and (2) were making me crazy.

Day 5 about noon my mom lovingly suggested that I get some “chewing food” before my husband returned from a business trip. My rants were still making her laugh, but at the same time she knows me well enough to know that low blood sugar dilemmas were close on the horizon.

Day 6 is tomorrow – doing about a half day and then driving into the city to see a show I am very excited about. Then, I will be done with this.

As for boiling a frog – this has been a comfortable, easy, non-violent decent into low blood sugar that took about 30 hours in total. I didn’t feel it drop out, I have not felt bad – just a little impatient (and other things in the world were easy to attribute that to). I am a perfect boiled frog, chilled out and relaxed while my blood sugar got lower and lower.

When I think about my decision making process late on day 4 — it is easy to understand. Oh, day 5s dinner was big and healthy, which is why I can finally write down what I’ve been thinking.

** For the record, I’ve had about a two pound loss in the week that includes the juice fast which is totally in my normal range of fluctuation. Weight loss wasn’t a primary goal, if it was I would have done what they suggest and not had solid foods (*half a pizza*) or coffee.

