Every once in awhile these days I get a far off look in my eyes. It is a combination of things, but when I cannot get time that is actually silent my head drifts off and my eyes look into the middle distance.

Today, my son really wanted me to be more present so he reached into his pocket of tricks. First, he started talking about our upcoming adventure plan (DragonCon!) and what being in the parade might be like. So that was nice.

Then he started to sing to me.

The songs he sings about me, to me, and for me crack my chest wide open.
Songs to the tune of every song he has ever heard, in the key of Almost-5, with lyics written by Stream of Thought.
In a soft voice, with a small smile, and a growing understanding of the power of a boy/man singing.

It was a very good thing. I am grateful.

