If you haven’t watched Wonder-ful yet and you want surprises just bail out right now.

 

 

Thank you Burt Hummel.  Thank you Ryan Murphy.

For this brief shining moment Glee managed to open a possibility (Blaine wants to marry Kurt) and then have an adult (oh my how I LOVE Burt) say realistic grown-up things.  It was amazing.  I know the story line isn’t over, the production shots in a jewelry store make that pretty clear, but they held it together for 42 minutes and that is good enough for me this week.

I hope that Kurt’s twitches at the beginning of the show were just a lead in for concerned looks during Superstitious and not some new demeaning story line for him.  I continue to be surprised at how much Chris Colfer remains second tier with a well-loved character and the chops to actually act instead of just chewing on the furniture.  With the enormous ball-drop on eating disorders they need to just leave OCD out of the picture for awhile.  Also – I want someone to medicate Kitty.

Finally, I want to offer an observation about the timing of this season.  It appears, to my untrained (yet not stupid) eye that about Valentine’s Day the crew at Glee realized that there was NO FREAKING WAY to make us care about the new members in a single season that was split between Lima & New York so they slammed on the pacing brakes and will now let Artie, Tina, Blaine, and Sam’s senior year play out over two seasons.  My guess is that they will mainly end up in New York (clearly, since Artie is headed there already) and then in the second of the two-year contract they just signed there will either be a spin off of the original cast (if the new cast has gained more traction) or the whole thing will just shift to absurdly large apartments in New York (Mr. Shu gets the chance of a lifetime!!)

For now, most of that is ok with me, in a moment of insanity Burt Hummel (the best written adult of that show except maybe Sue) said grown-up things to a child LIKE HE SHOULD.  I will totally take that for now.

