It is interesting to watch my son navigate how he gets his sense of connection.

This past weekend there were a couple of things that we did that we were both 100% into and connected with.  This morning he asked if we could do those things again.  The difference is this morning I am exhausted, it is a work / school day, and I’m just not excited by the idea of doing this stuff again.  So I put him off a bit, “I don’t know, we’ll see when we get home tonight, get your lunchbox.”

He tries again, suggesting something that I was 100% into and he was about 80% into.  That doesn’t work either.  I see him reaching into the back of his mind to figure out something that I love to do that he can tolerate.

Really, all he needs for me to help him believe that even though I am exhausted, I will make sure that there is a moment today that is ours.  I didn’t muster it up this morning – but I’ll try this afternoon.

 

