I need to wish Steve a Happy Birthday.

It has been a long time since I talked to him (except that we are networked on LinkedIn) and I miss him, especially around award season and his birthday. In 2002 we watched most of the award shows together in his condo talking about movies and music and dresses that would never pass the Grammy Dress Code. He was an absolute rock and gentleman at a time when I needed one.

Our friendship did that twisting in the wind thing that friendships sometimes do where nothing obvious changes and you find that you are suddenly further away than before, and that once it starts nothing really brings it back. We had started to drift, then it got rough for him, when it got good again he was gone and that was that.

I don’t think you can be a nearly 40 year old woman without at least a few friendships like this. There were moments in your life when you were confident it was a person you would know for a long time and then 5 or 10 years down the line you can’t even quite remember the last time you talked to them. I think it is natural, but sometimes I still do that thing…

I think about getting a silly birthday card (detective themed if I can find it) and a beer that would be very good. Happy Birthday Steve.

