The squirrels around here are obese, still November 1st plump and ready for hibernation. Except whatever trigger they are waiting for hasn’t happened, for the second winter in a row it has been easy living with no real need to hide out and sleep. So they ate all of that in preparation for something that never arrived. I wonder how many generations of squirrels it will take before they lose the ability to hibernate and all die in a bitter cold winter.

I wonder if all animals hibernated at some point. Most of the shining, glittering, stunning women I know have spent at least a week or two this month staring out the window and taking long deep breaths. Waiting for a sense of rest that comes with a great deep sleep.

I took a long walk outside yesterday because I could with comfort. Still, I haven’t hibernated yet.

